Pan Fried Chicken with Garlic Sauce – thanks to Kanzensakura

My take on Kanzensakura’s Pan Fried Chicken with Garlic Sauce

If there is one thing I need to have in my kitchen cupboard, it’s garlic. Take the onion, tomatoes and whatnot, but please, leave the garlic! It’s the smell of home, redolent of hearty dinners and simple suppers, of good times cooking and eating. I even love it when I catch the faint scent of garlic wafting from my hands after cooking.

My love of garlic led me to Kanzensakura’s post on ‘Chicken with Garlic Sauce’. I stumbled on the post two weeks ago and since then, wasn’t able to get it out of mind. The dish sounded easy, incredibly tasty, and also different: I’m used to stir-frying but this one called for browned, pan fried chicken. Yum. I could taste the caramelised garlic already. Click here for the recipe!

NB I didn’t stick to the measurements very closely (not having a tablespoon or teaspoon…), nor did I add sake because I don’t have any, but dinner still turned out amazing :D. It’s really important to let the chicken brown on each side before turning it, and also, to half cover the pan so that the chicken doesn’t dry out. Don’t worry about adding the sauce mixture much later too; it’s supposed to be more of a glaze, rather than a sauce.

Sigh, this definitely can be filed under my list of comfort food recipes… and it’s given me ideas on how I could do this with many other sauces… ginger, miso, black bean! Pan fried beef with black pepper, anyone?

6 thoughts on “Pan Fried Chicken with Garlic Sauce – thanks to Kanzensakura

  1. Toni says:

    This looks like restaurant quality!!! *.* I never thought that it was that important to brown chicken, I only thought that happened as a side effect of cooking without enough oil or for too long. But now that I think about it…slightly browned scrambled eggs are somehow so much more delicious and savoury than non-browned eggs!! :O

    • springforever says:

      Yes I think previously I’ve always been way too impatient with meats to have let it brown on each side and cook fully before flipping! Actually I’m not sure but I think if you add a bit more oil, it will help the meat brown quicker (but I should probably look this up…). Guess it depends on the heat as well. Thanks for all of the comments; I will slowly get to replying all of them!

Leave a Reply

