Passing on the blogging love (thank yous and awards)

Big thank you to Anne of Uni Homemaker for nominating me for the Wonderful Team Membership Award! ๐Ÿ™‚
Here are the bloggers I’d like to nominate for the Wonderful Team Membership Award, as a little thank you gesture for their supportive readership and for sharing their wonderful stories. I’ve just started blogging and am pleasantly surprised to find that there is a true community here on WordPress, in part to these individuals who have encouraged and inspired me!

1. Alissa from marthastoever (Her tofu and edamame salad was one of the first posts I ‘liked’ on WordPress)
2. Virginia from Our Growing Paynes (Really appealing and detailed posts on various culinary creations)
3. Sheryl from cor delactatio (Very versatile blog, and I’ve really appreciated Sheryl’s feedback on some of my first few posts.)
4. The Bootleg Cook (Check out the post on homemade mooncakes, just in time for the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival! Love this blogger’s photos and enthusiasm!)
5. Foie Gras Chick (Loved the most recent post on okonomiyaki, but you should also check out her courageous and thought-provoking writing in the post, Remembering.)
6. My Home Food That’s Amore (This blogger certainly knows what she is doing! Lovely, detailed posts on food, and also great feedback when you don’t get things quite right the first time round ;))

Guidelines for the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award are as follows:

  1. The Nominee of the Wonderful Team member Readership Award shall display the logo on his/her blog.
  2. The Nominee shall nominate 14 readers they appreciate over a period of 7 days, all at once or little by little.
  3. The Nominee shall name his/her Wonderful Team Member Readership Award nominees on a post or on posts during
    7 days.

Another big thank you to Fae of Fae’s Twist and Tango for nominating me for the Liebster Blog Award.

Fae’s questions for me:
1. What inspires you?
The written word. People often underestimate the power of writing, of being able to read, write, and act upon the written word. I studied literature throughout university so I have really come to respect how literature in particular is intrinsically intertwined with politics, culture, society, ethics, religion, and personal development.
2. What is your favorite dessert?
Just one favourite dessert?! It’s gotta be three :P: cofee ice cream, mango with glutinous black rice pudding, and banoffee pie.
3. What is your favorite comedy?
Frasier!
4. When you were a child, what did you want to be when your grew up?
I had it in my head that I wanted to be a lawyer for awhile, despite not knowing what lawyers actually do. And then it was president and then secret agent. None of those have transpired… yet! (Though I guess I wouldn’t say if I were actually a secret agent.)
5. Why did you start a blog?
I needed a creative outlet to express my thoughts and motivate me to do more cooking. It’s also a way for me to let family and friends who are living far away know what I’ve been up to!
6. What is your favourite part of blogging?
I love the community. I love the feeling of reading a thoughtful comment, stumbling upon an awesome blog, meeting a fellow blogger of the same heart, and receiving a word of praise!
7. What would be the name of your โ€˜reality showโ€™ to describe your life?
Ooh this is a hard one. Maybe something like ‘Young and Hungry’, ha!
8. If you were to give a speech on any topic, what would it be?
Probably on something literacy related. I’ve been involved in initiatives to boost and promote literacy since middle school; it’s something that I care deeply about, and I’m glad that my job allows me to think about literacy education, too.
9. If you changed your name, what would you change it to?
I’ve always liked the name Lauren. I have a Chinese name, which I like in Chinese, but it doesn’t look so great when romanised! If I had to pick another name, I’d probably want a Chinese sounding one though.
10. What is your dream career?
I don’t have a dream career because I’m still figuring out what I’m interested in, what kind of work environment I would thrive in. Ideally it would be something that would be both creative and analytical, and involve language/books in some form. I’m happy where I am for now! As for careers I’ve fantasised about… owning some kind of food and books cafe, perhaps?
11. If money were no object, where would you live and why?
I’d love to live in one of the island/beach-areas in Hong Kong, like Discovery Bay, where the sea is close and you’re out of the main city but still connected to it. Otherwise, I think southern California sounds pretty good ;).

Now to pass on the blogging love and recognition, here are the bloggers whom I’d like to nominate for the Liebster Blog Award. Thank you all for sharing your creations, culinary and otherwise! ๐Ÿ™‚

1. Marisa of Picture Real Food (Writing with style and substance combined with stunning photography, a must read!)
2. Randalle from a toast and tea (I would happily cook and eat any of the recipes on this blog, โ€” all of the recipes for savoury food especially make me so hungry.)
3. Andreea from The Windy Kitchen (Great blog for all baked goodies and savoury foods โ€” check out her post on cooking Vietnamese Beef Pho!)
4. nice & calm (Thoughtful collection of various musings paired with beautiful photography.)
5. Vordoo from Vordoo โ€” a bilingual blog about food in English and Thai (Knowledgeable about Thai and Chinese cuisines, this bilingual blogger is clearly multi-talented!)

My questions to the nominees, many of which are the same as the ones posed to me:
1. What, or who, inspires you?
2. What is your favourite appetiser?
3. If you could live in a different decade or even century, which would it be and why?
4. When you were a child, what did you want to be when your grew up?
5. Why did you start a blog?
6. What is your favourite part of blogging?
7. ย Name one personality trait that you like about yourself.
8. If you were to give a speech on any topic, what would it be?
9. How do you de-stress?
10. What is your dream career?
11. If money were no object, where would you live and why?

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

And the rules of the Liebstar Blog award are as follows:

1. Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
2. Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back.
3. Answer the 11 questions proposed by the person who nominated you.
4. Select 11 people for the award.
5. Pose 11 new questions to the new nominees.

12 thoughts on “Passing on the blogging love (thank yous and awards)

  1. josephine says:

    O gosh Sheila, thank you so very much for nominating my blog and for your lovely comment (which I really appreciate by the way, it’s so good to get endorsements on being human!). I look forward to reading your posts and take pleasure in your interest in literature and the power of the written word … and your food looks pretty amazing too!!!

    • Sheila says:

      You’re most welcome, Josephine! ‘endorsements on being human’ haha yes! I think I definitely need reminders from time to time to not take myself so seriously; life is much easier that way. Yes I really want to work out how best to channel my love for literature in a blog that started out as a food blog. I don’t want to bore those readers who are interested in food, but at the same time, I think we should blog for ourselves as much as we do for our readers. Literature is something that I’ve always held back talking about with non-lit-geek friends, but maybe it is something that I can more fully embrace in the world of WordPress! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by again.

  2. Clanmother says:

    Congratulations on your well deserved awards! You have an amazing blog – I love stopping by for a visit! And congratulations to all those remarkable bloggers who received your nomination.

    • Sheila says:

      Thank you for your kind words! Hope I’ll be able to keep sharing worthwhile entries with everyone :). You have an incredible and versatile blog, one which I’ll be sure to check out more often. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Marisa says:

    Thank you so much for nominating my blog! I’m so honored! I’ve been traveling and not posting regularly, so I see I missed the deadline for responding. However, please know your nomination and kind comments are much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

