Sole with Light Parsley Dressing and Spaghetti

pan fried sole with light white sauce and spaghetti

not the most refined of plates but who’s judging?

This dish was an experiment: I’ve never cooked sole before, nor have I ever made a dressing with parsley. But it was so much fun to cook!

I picked up sole in the first place because recently I’ve been trying to find alternatives to foods that I normally pick up on the weekly grocery run. Lemon Sole for some reason is cheap here compared to sea bass, plaice, cod. I’m not quite sure why though. It’s surprising because sole seems to me to be a more delicate fish compared with cod, which in this country is often battered and deep fried for fish n’ chips. I like the chips but don’t understand battered cod — why would you do that to a nice piece of white fish?

Well I wanted to do sole justice, so I paired it with a light white parsley dressing (I thought a full-on sauce would overpower the fish), and spaghetti tossed in olive oil, parsley and garlic. The flavours blended well. I think the star was the parsley – it’s a herb with personality, but  not too overbearing and it goes well with sole and spaghetti. I then made a dressing using milk and butter for the base and had fun with it, improvising by adding a bit of Dijon mustard and minced yellow onion to give it extra kick.

 

Sole with Light Parsley Dressing and Spaghetti

Ingredients, for 2 portions
2x lemon sole fillet (approx 250 grams)
spaghetti, 150 grams
parsley, 10 stalks, chopped finely
garlic, 2 cloves, minced
1/2 small yellow onion, minced
milk, 1/4 cup
butter, 3 tablespoons
Dijon mustard, 1/2 teaspoon
olive oil
sea salt and black pepper to taste

Method
1. Bring dried spaghetti to boil in pot of salted water.
2. Crack a little bit of sea salt and black pepper on both sides of the fish. Set aside.
3. Heat pan on medium heat. Wait for pan to heat up, then add olive oil to hot pan.
4. Pan fry sole fillets, pressing down gently on the fish to make sure each side cooks evenly. Add one tablespoon of butter to the pan as the fish is cooking. It should take no more than 2 minutes on each side. You might have to turn down the heat to low-medium at this point to avoid burning the butter.
5. Remove cooked fish from pan. Turn down heat to low-medium heat if you haven’t already. Check on your spaghetti.
6. For the dressing: in a little olive oil, fry the yellow onion, two minutes. Tip in the remaining 1 tablespoon of butter to pan and milk, mix, then add chopped parsley and mustard. Cook for another minute, then pour this mixture into a small bowl.
7. Your spaghetti would most likely have been done during step 6. Drain away the hot water. Then in the previous fish pan, turn up the heat. Sautee the garlic with some olive oil, and when the garlic’s edges are turning golden, tip in pasta. Toss in some parsley, sea salt.
8. Once pasta is mixed well with the other ingredients, plate up with the fish and dressing. Garnish with extra parsley.

This was one of the more involved dinners of last week, but as I said, really fun to make because everything cooks very quickly so I never got bored and wandered off to do something else. It’s incredibly satisfying when cooking becomes more than just the means of getting to an end (dinner!), when you enjoy preparing the food as much as you do eating it, no?

6 thoughts on “Sole with Light Parsley Dressing and Spaghetti

    • Sheila says:

      Oooh I do love a bit of prawn linguine :). I haven’t had fish and pasta in ages, so I was quite surprised at how comforting a combination it is. And so much less a hassle compared to meat I think.

    • Sheila says:

      Cheers Jo! I definitely lose sight of that sometimes, especially when I’m tired and hungry. I need to put up a sign in my kitchen or something that says that cooking is supposed to be fun, not a chore!

Leave a Reply

