Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl)

Sometimes when I’m feeling lazy after work I like to just make a ‘one pot’ dish for minimal cooking and washing up. Oyakodon is one of these, if you don’t count the rice cooker!

I like oyakodon for its simple ‘clear’ flavours; traditionally it is cooked by simmering chicken in dashi, a kind of fish stock made from bonito flakes, yellow onion and spring onions, with lightly beaten egg added to the mixture, before being transferred onto a bowl of hot steaming rice.

The past few times I’ve cooked oyakodon, I lightly pan-fried the chicken before simmering it in hot water and dashi. Just a preference – it gives the chicken a little more colour. I also like chopping dried seaweed and adding it as a garnish but I’ve run out of dried seaweed! Dried seaweed is a great addition I think because it adds to the Japanese flavours and lends more texture to the otherwise soft, subtle ingredients. However this time around, I lacked a lot of the traditional ingredients so I had to make do without yellow onion (substituting with red), spring onions, and seaweed. It still worked though!

Oyakodon

Oyakodon

I think I still have a tendency to not add enough boiling water to the chicken when simmering it; the more liquidy the dish, the better :).

Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl)

Ingredients, for 4 portions
500 grams, chicken thighs, diced into small pieces (not quite bite sized though)
1/2  onion, sliced
3 eggs, beaten lightly
3 stalks spring onion, sliced diagonally into 1 inch pieces

200 ml dashi stock/boiling water mixed with 2 tablespoons dashi powder
1 1/2 tablespoons, light soy sauce for marinating
white sugar, 1/2 tablespoon, for marinating
salt, 1/2 teaspoon, for marinating
2 tablespoon mirin
optional – 1 piece dried seaweed (nori), sliced into thin strips for garnish

Method
1. Marinate chicken in light soy sauce, salt, and a little sugar. Set aside for at least 15 minutes.
2. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in large frying pan/skillet on medium heat
3. Pan fry marinated chicken, lightly browning on each side before turning. Add mirin to chicken as it is cooking.
4. When both sides of chicken are slightly coloured, add dashi stock to pan, turning heat to medium-low heat. Add onions.
5. Cover pan with lid and let chicken and onions simmer.
6. After chicken is fully cooked, add spring onions and swirl egg into chicken mixture. Cover pan with lid.
7. When egg is cooked, switch off heat. Serve on top of white rice, with seaweed garnish if using.

11 thoughts on “Oyakodon (Japanese Chicken and Egg Rice Bowl)

  1. kanzensakura says:

    I just love Japanese food and this looks similar to something made years past. Thanks for posting this. I’m giving your recipe a go and……using as a side for a bit of lift, I’m going to use some of the Japanese quick pickles I always have in the fridge.

    • Sheila says:

      Thanks for stopping by, kanzensakura!
      Oh gosh I LOVE japanese pickles, especially the yellow ones – are they daikon? not sure. Pickles would be perfect with oyakodon.

      • kanzensakura says:

        A kind of radish, yes. I like to matchstick daikon and carrot and make the sour pickle recipe with them. Japanese pickles are so easy to make….truly and certainly cheaper than buying and you can find your own special taste and tweak it.

    • Sheila says:

      Thanks Fae – your oyakodon post looks great!! Shittake mushrooms on top is a nice touch ;). I love reading other people’s recipes of similar dishes; it’s interesting to see variations and also sometimes how different methods do often produce very similar results (like how we add the onion at different stages, but I don’t think it actually makes much of a difference!).

    • Sheila says:

      Definitely :). It’s still very windy and cool over here! By the way, I love the seafood cous cous recipe you posted awhile back. I am one of those people who doesn’t like cous cous but your dish looks and sounds delicious.

  2. Lisa says:

    This looks amazing! It reminds me of that time we went for Japanese food in London. You inspired me to try making karaage at home after we last came over for dinner. 🙂 Your blog looks great!

    • Sheila says:

      Thanks Lisa! That’s very kind. Karaage sounds great!! I have been obsessed with pan-fried chicken and meats recently, and from what I understand, karaage can be cooked similarly without being deep-fried, which is nice.
      Your comment here has now reminded me that I need to get back on track with blogging – I’ve got photos, but need to get back to the writing part!

Leave a Reply

