Quiche Lorraine from Betty Crocker

Now that spring is approaching, I feel cheered and inspired to blog more. I’ve been reaching for cookbooks borrowed from the library and searching for online recipes by the experts for inspiration, especially as I start planning for a life where I might not be able to cook 2 hot meals at home a day.

So today I want to blog about this tried and tested recipe from Betty Crocker for Quiche Lorraine.

Quiche Lorraine

Quiche is one of those foods that I belatedly discovered in my twenties, but I never got around to making one until last week. It was out of desperation actually because I was starting to run out of grocery money for the week and began compiling recipes for economical meals that can be prepared ahead of time. Quiche was perfect!

The recipe is super simple (thank you Betty). I used a frozen pre-made pie crust (only $1.80!!), and pre-heated it wrapped in foil before putting in the fillings of cooked bacon, cheddar cheese, and sauteed onion.

Note that apparently the original recipe calls for nutmeg (not ground cayenne pepper). I used nutmeg, which I prefer. Also, I only used 1.5 cups of half-and-half mixture (not 2 cups as the recipe calls for), because I used more filling and didn’t want the whole mixture to bubble over.

quiche1

Adding cooked bacon, cheddar cheese, and sauteed onion.

quiche2

Adding the egg/half-and-half mixture, topped with more cheddar cheese (important for colour).

quiche3

Piping hot out of the oven. I think I could have done a better job with the egg mixture by mixing the egg yolks and whites more carefully because I felt like I got a very ‘eggy’ top layer.

quiche4

Quiche Lorraine paired with salad with home-made Caesar dressing!

I rate this recipe 8/10 for its simplicity in method/ingredients list and economical value.

The quiche tasted pretty good; this recipe is more of a basic starting point and I’m sure there are plenty of customizations one could try – e.g. changing up ingredients (spinach, different cheese, sauteed mushrooms, flaked salmon whatever you like) or adding more spice to the egg mixture.

The recipe yielded 4 normal-sized portions for us. Great with salad! I think a sweet/tangy salad is better than a creamy one – honey mustard dressing would’ve been perfect.

One thought on “Quiche Lorraine from Betty Crocker

Leave a Reply

